How to clear the history of visited sites

Who I am
Joel Fulleda
@joelfulleda
Author and references

How to clear the history of visited sites (Google Chrome)



If you are using Google Chrome, to clear the history of the visited Internet sites, you will have to act from the browser settings.


To do this, once you have started the navigation program developed by Google, click on the button with the three dots symbol which is located at the top right. Now from the drop-down menu that you will see on the screen, click on the wording Other tools and then on the voice Clear browsing data.

This will allow you to view the browser settings screen for the history section and the ability to delete it. First choose if you want to carry out a deletion basic or a Advanced by clicking on the appropriate menu items that you will see on the screen.

In the first case, by clicking on the wording basic, you will be able to clear the history of a certain predetermined period of time. Click on the drop-down menu last day to choose whether to delete the history for the previous day or to delete the history of last four weeks. Alternatively, you can also click on the wording all to signal to Google Chrome that you want to completely delete all history saved on the browser.


Now, you will have to put the check mark in correspondence with the wording browsing history. If you want to delete other data as well, such as i cookie, and some data stored in the browser cache, put the check mark next to the items cookie and altri dati dei siti and cached images and files. To confirm the deletion operations, press the button Clear data.

By selecting the tab Advanced, from the menu that I have indicated to you, the cancellation procedure is identical. Consequently, once you have indicated the custom time interval for which you want to delete the history, just put the check mark in correspondence with the deletion options that you will see on the screen.


The difference is in the additional selectable options, including for example the download timeline and data of the automatic filling of forms. Also in this case, to confirm the operation of deleting the history, you will have to press the button Clear data.

How to clear the history of visited sites (Mozilla Firefox)

Even using Mozilla Firefox, you can easily perform the procedure for deleting the history of the sites you have visited.



To do this, simply open your browser and then click on menu button, the one that has the icon with the three horizontal lines symbol.

From the drop-down menu that you will see on the screen, then tap on the item options to enter the settings screen for the browser you are using.

Now, to clear your browser's browsing history, you will need to click on the item privacy and security that you can see on the screen on the left side.

Through this screen you can view the section Browser privacy e, a little below, the wording Chronology.

Note that you can take action in this section to change the default history options. So pay attention to the wording Impostazioni chronology and you will surely see that by default there will be the wording Save the history.

This clearly means that, by default, the browser will save your browsing history. However, by clicking on this drop-down menu, you can choose to set the item I will not save the chronology or the voice Use custom settings.

This last item will allow you to place or deactivate the check mark in correspondence with additional options relating for example to the browsing and download history, also allowing you to delete the history every time the browser is closed.

Ultimately, through this option, you can then choose how to customize your history. By clicking on the wording instead I will not save the chronology, from the drop-down menu that I have indicated, you will ensure that, from now on, the browser performs the operation you indicated.


However, if you want to clear the history of the sites you have visited so far, click on the wording Save the history in the drop-down menu to see the writing appear clear recent history.

Clicking on it will bring up a box named Clear recent history. You will then be able to choose the time interval relating to the history to be deleted; for example the history of last four hours, or the history of last two hours. You can also select the entry to completely clear all history all and then click the button Cancel Now.

How to clear the history of visited sites (Safari)

Do you need to clear the list of websites you have recently visited and do you want to do it through Safari, since it is the browser you use to browse the Internet?

No problem to do this you have to first open the browser and then click on the menu Chronology located at the top.

Select by voice Cancel chronology ... e, in the window that opens, you will have to choose whether to delete all history, the chronology of yesterday and today or that oflast hour. To confirm your choice, press the button Cancel the timeline.

If you want to clear the history of the sites viewed in Safari, but keep some of the data, such as cookies, once you are in the menus chronology of Safari you will have to hold the key Other on the Mac keyboard. This will display the wording Clear history and keep website data ....

At this point, you just have to choose whether to delete completely all history or that oflast day or even that oflast hour e, confirm the operation by pressing the button Cancel the timeline.

How to clear the history of visited sites (with a program)

You've come a long way, and by reading the tips I've given you in this tutorial, you've become a real ninja in using your PC. You have figured out how to clear the history of sites visited through the main browsers, but you think the procedure is too long and you need to simplify it.

Also, since you are using more than one browser at the same time, you would like to delete the history of all browsers in one go, and at the same time, all traces of PC usage as well. In short, it must be said, you really care about your privacy.

If you fall into this case, I suggest you run for cover using a program: Privacy Mantra. It is a very good software free that allows delete the sites visited and the traces of use of the PC in an easy, fast and safe way. Install it and once you have used it, you will erase all history data in one go.

The first step you need to take is to connect to the Privacy Mantra website and click on the item Download 32 and 64-bit, found in the middle of the page, to download the program to your PC.

At the end of the download procedure open, by double clicking on it, the file you have just downloaded (privacymantra.exe). Now, in the window that opens, click on Si in the User Account Control window.

To start installing the program, click Next and then I Agree (to accept the conditions of use of the program), then on Next, install and Finish to complete the installation process and start Privacy Mantra.

In the window that opens, you will find the list of all applications and browsers for which the program is able to detect and delete traces of use. Then put the check mark next to the items related to the elements you want to delete (for example the cache and cookie di Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox and Internet Explorer, or traces of use of Word and Excel) and click on your button Analyze to start the search for the selected objects.

At the end of the scan, using the window you will see on the screen, make sure that there is no check mark next to the items found by the program, but that you want to keep on the PC and click on the button Chub. In this way you will be able to permanently eliminate all visited sites and traces of PC usage in one fell swoop.

Before erasing, you can also save a list of all traces of computer usage via Privacy Mantra. To do this you will need to click on the button Save Log (located at the bottom left) from the window that you will see appear on the screen, and select the folder in which to save the document.



Audio Video How to clear the history of visited sites
add a comment of How to clear the history of visited sites
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.