How to delete a message on Messenger before it is read

Who I am
Valery Aloyants
@valeryaloyants
Author and references


Useful Information


In the last quarter of 2018, Facebook has introduced a feature that allows all users to delete messages sent on Messenger. Thanks to this new feature, therefore, it is possible to delete a message not only from your own chat, but also from that of the recipient.


If you have the impression that you have not received the function in question, make sure you have updated the official Messenger app on your Android or iOS device (at the time of writing, the Messenger application for Windows 10 does not integrate the related function deleting messages for all) following the procedures described below.


  • Android - open the Play Store, tap on the pulsating (≡) che si trova in alto a left and seleciona la voce Le mie app ei miei giochi from the bar that appears laterally. Then check for any updates for Messenger and pulsing on pulsating Update placed next to the app icon (if agolable).
  • iOS - open theApp Store, tap on the pulsating Update located at the bottom right, find any updates for Messenger and pulsing on pulsating Update placed next to the app icon (if present).

For more information on how to update Messenger, conont the in-depth study that I linked to you: there you will find even more detailed information in this regard.


As for the message deletion feature on Messenger, I want to tell you that this can be done within 10 minutes of sending of the message to be deleted: after this time, it will be possible to remove the message only from your own chat and not from that of the recipient.

Also note that by deleting the message from the recipient's chat, the recipient will display the message "[Your name] has removed a message". If everything is clear so far, I would say that we can proceed in earnest!

Delete a message on Messenger before it is read by smartphones and tablets


Delete a message on Messenger before it is read directly giving smartphone e tablet is a very simple operation: all you have to do is access the famous messaging app, locate the conversation you are interested in, select the message you want to delete and remove it for everyone, calling the appropriate function from the application menu (a provided that the message has been sent less than 10 minutes ago).


To proceed, therefore, start the official Messenger app on your Android or iOS device, log in to your account (if necessary) and tap on conversazione of your interest. At this point, locate the message you want to delete before it is read by the recipient and make a long tap on it, in order to select it.

Then select the item Remove that appears in the lower right corner of the screen, select the item Remove for all from the menu that opens and confirms the operation by answering Remove to the question Do you want to remove the message for everyone? in the box that appears on the screen. If the user has not already read the message, he or she will not be able to view it even in the future: in its place, in fact, it will display the message "[Your name] has removed a message".

In case you do not see the wording Remove for all, but only the option Remove for you after selecting the message you want to delete and tapping the button Remove, it is likely that more than 10 minutes have already passed since the sending of the latter e, therefore, it is no longer possible to cancel it.

If, on the other he, less than 10 minutes have passed since the message was sent but you still do not see the option in question, it may be that you have not updated the Facebook Messenger app on your device. 



Delete a message on Messenger before it is read by the computer

You would like to know if it is possible to delete a message you have sent on Facebook Messenger by acting directly from computer, maybe because right now you don't have your smartphone or tablet at he? Of course you can! You can do this either by acting from the main page of Facebook than proceeding directly from Messenger.com: everything is explained below.

Facebook

If you prefer to act directly from Facebook, the first thing you need to do is connect to the main page of the social network using your favorite browser and log into your account (if you have not already done so). After that you have to click on the button Messages (l'icona della speech bubble with the symbol of arrow inside) and select the conversazione of your interest from the box that opens.

Once the chat of your interest is open, hover the mouse cursor over the message you want to delete (before it is read by the recipient), click on the symbol (...) that appears next to it (on the left) and click on the item Remove.

In the box Who do you want to remove this message for?, then select the option Remove for all and click the blue button Remove at the bottom right. If the user has not already read the message you have decided to delete, they will not be able to read it even in the future e, in its place, will display the message "[Your name] has removed a message".

If after selecting the message you want to delete and clicking the button Remove, you shouldn't see the option Remove for all but only that Remove for you, evidently more than 10 minutes have passed since the message was sent e, therefore, you no longer have the possibility to delete it.

Messenger.com

If you prefer to proceed from Messenger.cominstead, connected to the main page of the service, log in to your account (if you have not already done so) and open the conversation on which you intend to delete one or more messages sent.

Then hover the mouse cursor over the message you want to delete, click on the symbol (...) that appears next to it (on the left) and click on the item Remove. Then select the option Remove for all from the box that opens and click on the item Remove placed at the bottom right of the box in question. Once the message has been deleted, the recipient will no longer be able to view it (its only "trace" will be the presence of the message "[Your name] has removed a message").

In case you were not able to delete the message in question using the procedure described above, it is likely that more than 10 minutes have passed since the message was sent.



Audio Video How to delete a message on Messenger before it is read
add a comment of How to delete a message on Messenger before it is read
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.