How to delete a PS4 account

Who I am
Aina Martin
@ainamartin
Author and references



Delete an account from PS4

If you want delete an account from PS4, the first step you need to take is to log into the console with your main account (by selecting it from the PlayStation home menu). Then press the up arrow on the controller (or use the left analog stick to go above), reach the icon Settings (the toolbox) and select it using the key X.




In the screen that opens, select the item Login settings, then go up User Management and choose the option Delete user from the menu that appears on the screen.

You will be shown the list with all accounts currently set up on PS4. To delete one of them, select it with the key X of the controller, then press the button Delete that appears on the TV (below) and confirm by pressing the button first Yes and then OK.



As you will be told by PS4, if you delete a user from the console, their saved data, screen snapshots and video clips of the latter

they will be deleted from the console memory. Think very carefully before proceeding!

Delete an account from the PS4 family

Deleting an account from the PS4 does not automatically delete the account from the PSN family. If you want to delete the user from yours too PSN family or vice versa, you want to delete an account only from your family without deleting it from PS4, proceed like this.

First, log in to your PS4 using an account with rights to manage family settings. Then press the up arrow or use it left analog stick of the controller to reach the top of the menu and select the icon Settings (the toolbox), using the key X.


In the screen that opens, go to Content Filter / Family Management, Then Family management and log into your PSN account (if required). Then select theaccount to remove from your family on PlayStation Network (always using the X controller), choose the option Remove from family which is at the bottom of the screen and confirm by pressing the button OK per due turn consecutive.

The game is done! The selected user will be removed from your PSN family. If you have second thoughts, to add it again (as long as this has not been removed from the PS4), you can return to the menu Settings> Content Filtering / Family Management> Family Management I will select the voice Add family member from the screen that opens.

Delete a PSN PS4 account

Your intent is not to delete an account from PS4, but rather delete an account from the PlayStation Network? In this case, you must send a communication to Sony and request the deletion of the account from the Japanese giant. In fact, there is no option to delete a profile from the PSN independently.


Going into more detail, what you need to do is connect to this page of the Sony website and click on the item Accesso contained in the box PlayStation Network and account. At this point, fill out the form that appears below by selecting the option Management of my account give menu to tendin Select a topic and providing all the requested information: name, Login ID (email address), ID online PSN and date of birth.

Finally, state your willingness to close your PSN account in the field Your question, verify captcha (if required) and click on the button Send to complete the procedure. Sony will welcome your request and provide you with an answer as soon as possible.

If you're trying to cancel an account from PSN just because you want to cancel your PlayStation Plus subscription (Sony's paid service for playing multiplayer games and accessing exclusive services and discounts), you don't need to. to resort to such a drastic measure: you can cancel your PlayStation Plus membership without deleting the account you have associated it with.

To do so, turn on your PS4, log in with the account on which the PlayStation Plus subscription is active and go to the menu Settings (the toolbox icon located at the top right). At this point, go on Account management, Then PlayStation subscriptions and select the item related to PlayStation Plus.

In conclusion, press the button Turn off automatic renewal, confirm and the automatic renewal of your PlayStation Plus subscription will be canceled. This means that at the end of the current subscription period (or the free trial, if you are your first PlayStation Plus experience), the service will not be renewed and you will not be charged.

Change the details of a PS4 account

If, while waiting for your account to be deleted from the PSN, you want to make it "harmless" and replace your real data with fictitious data, proceed as follows.

From PS4, log in to the console using the account you want to change and select the item Profile which is at the top of the console menu (it should have your profile photo). At this point, select the button [...] using the key X controller, select the item Edit profile from the menu that opens and choose which data to change between name, profilo's photo, avatar, wallpaper Background image, personal informations and so on.

Once you have selected the information to be changed, log into your PSN account (if required) and apply the changes you deem appropriate using the forms proposed to you.

To change some "technical" data of the account, such as the email address associated with the latter, go to the menu Settings of PS4 (the toolbox icon located at the top right of the console's main menu), then go to Account Management> Account Information and choose which data to modify.

Among the information that can be changed are: Login ID (to change the email address associated with the PSN account), wallet (to change the payment methods associated with the profile) and address (to change the billing address). Once you have selected the option of your interest, modify the data relating to it using the form that is proposed to you.

To adjust the settings related to privacy and then decide what information to display to other PlayStation Network users, go to Settings> Account Management> Privacy and log into your PSN account.

Please note that if you change the email address associated with your account, you will be automatically logged out of the PlayStation Network and you will need to verify the new email address by clicking on the link that will be sent to you via email.

If you prefer, you can also change the data associated with your PSN account from your PC. All you have to do is connect to the PlayStation Network website, click on the button Log in or register now and log in with your personal profile data.

Once logged in, select the tab Account which is located at the top left and then one of the items that appear on the left, depending on the data you want to change. For example, if you want to change the name associated with the account, you need to select the item Profile from the left sidebar, then you have to click on the button Change, you have to fill in the form that is proposed to you with name, middle name (optional) and last name and you have to click on the button Save.

If, on the other he, you want to change the payment information, you must select the item Our customers from the left sidebar and click on the option Modification o Remove related to the payment method you want to change or remove from your account.

To change the settings related to privacy, connected to this web page, log in to your PSN account, select the item PSN privacy settings from the left sidebar and click on the button Modification relating to the data for which you wish to change the degree of privacy (eg. activity o trophies).

In short: as you may have understood, it is all very intuitive. All you have to do is select an item from the side menu, choose the data to be changed and fill in the forms that are proposed to you. Easier than that ?!



Audio Video How to delete a PS4 account
add a comment of How to delete a PS4 account
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.