How to delete Facebook from Android

Who I am
Judit Llordes
@juditllordes
Author and references



Delete Facebook from Android


If your intent is to delete Facebook from Android, the first thing you can do is the deletion of your account, a procedure that can be carried out very simply from smartphones and tablets, through the use of the official application dedicated to Mark Zuckerberg's social network.


Before doing so, however, I recommend that you perform a preliminary operation relating to the download of all the history of your activity performed within the platform.

This operation is optional but necessary if you want to avoid permanently losing everything about your account, including any multimedia content uploaded to it. If the download does not effect, all your data will be deleted, following the permanent deletion of your Facebook account.

Data download


Have you decided to delete yourself from Facebook, but want to save a copy of all your activity first? No problem, to do that, start the Facebook on your device, by pressing on its icon located on the home screen or in the drawer (the screen with the list of all the apps installed on the device), then log in with your account data (e-mail and Password), in order to display the initial screen of the social network.


Now, tap on the icon with the symbol (≡) located in the upper right corner, scroll the displayed screen, tap on the item first Settings and Privacy e then presses on the wording Settings. Then locate the entry Download your information and presses on it, so you can decide which data to keep in a special file that you can download to your device. Acting now through the section Download your information, uncheck the items you don't want to include in the backup (or leave them all if you prefer to include them all).

Once this is done, use the drop-down menus Date range, Size and Content quality multimedia to adjust the data download settings for your account. Therefore, indicate if you want to keep all your data (all my data) or whether to select a date range. As for the file format, however, you can select the extension HTML o JSON while the content quality multimedia may be high, half o low.

At the end of the customization, press on the item Create the file, wait for it to be processed e, as soon as it is ready (it may take hours or days), tap on the tab Copies agolable; to download it, click on the appropriate button download for free.


Deactivate or delete the account

Once the data has been backed up, you can proceed with the cancellation of your account, always acting through the Settings of Facebook.


On the social network home screen, tap the button (≡) and reach the section dedicated to deactivating or deleting the account, by clicking on the items Settings and Privacy> Settings> Account Control and Properties.

Now, tap on the wording Deactivation e Elimination, in order to follow a different procedure, depending on whether you want to deactivate the account temporarily (Deactivate account) or delete it permanently (Delete account).

Subsequently, if you want to deactivate the account temporarily, after ticking the box Deactivate account, award your bottone Continue to deactivate the account, to confirm the operation, indicates the Password in the appropriate text field, click on the button Continue, select a reason from those you see on the screen to tell Facebook the reason for your decision (eg. This is a temporary measure. I'll be back), and then tap the button Continue (down).

In the new screen that opened, then, press the button again Continue (bottom), presses the button Deactivate my account And that's it. Once this has been done, you can get back into your account at any time by logging in using your credentials (e-mail and Password).

If, on the other he, you have decided to permanently unsubscribe from Facebook, after having ticked the box Delete account, press the pulsating Continue to delete the account (twice in a row), scroll the displayed screen, tap the button Delete account e, after specifying the Password in the appropriate text field, presses the button Continue. In conclusion, press the button Delete account And that's it.


The deletion of the account is permanent, but can be canceled by logging back into your Facebook account within 30 days and consenting to its recovery. After this time limit the account will be permanently lost.

Uninstall the Facebook app

Once you have deactivated or deleted your Facebook profile, as I explained to you in the previous chapter, you just have to uninstall the social network application that you had previously installed on your Android device.

The procedure to be performed is the same for uninstalling applications Facebook and Messenger but it is also the same for uninstalling apps Facebook Lite and Lite Messenger.

That said, the first method you can use to uninstall an application on Android requires you to act through the home screen. Press and hold your finger on the app icon of Facebook and then drag it to the icon of the basket (may be accompanied by the wording Uninstall) you see on the screen. Confirm the uninstallation by pressing on the item OK in the confirmation menu that is shown to you.

Alternatively, you can uninstall the app via the Android settings: to do this, press the icon with the symbol of a gear on the home screen of your smartphone or tablet, go to the section App by tapping on the relevant item in the menu Settings.

On the next screen, locate the entry Facebook and tap on it, then press the button Uninstall and confirm the operation by pressing OK. You can repeat the same procedure to uninstall the other Facebook applications as well, such as Messenger, Facebook Lite o Lite Messenger, by tapping on the relevant item in the menu Impostazioni> App.

To uninstall an application on Android you can also act from the Play Store, Android's default virtual store. To do this, press on its icon that you find on the home screen of your smartphone or tablet (it is the symbol of a colored triangle), then, on the home screen, press the button with the symbol (≡).

Now, in the relevant drop-down menu, click on the item Le mie app ei miei giochi, tap on the tab Install, find the application of Facebook you intend to uninstall (Facebook, Facebook Lite, Messenger o Lite Messenger) and tap on its icon to view its card in the Play Store. At this point, you just have to press the button Uninstall you see on the screen and confirm the uninstallation by pressing on OK.

The uninstallation procedure of the Facebook app should also automatically delete the social network account present in the Android settings. In this regard, if this does not happen, you can manually delete it.

To proceed, click on the icon with a symbol gear on the home screen of your smartphone or tablet and press on the items Settings> Accounts> Facebook. At this point, press on the symbol (...) that you find located in the upper right corner, then tap on the item Remove Account twice consecutively, to confirm the operation. This will reont in the deletion of all messages, contacts and other Facebook data that may be present on the device.

Please note: the steps that I showed you in the previous lines may vary a bit depending on the bre and model of smartphone / tablet you own and based on the version of Android installed on it.



Audio Video How to delete Facebook from Android
add a comment of How to delete Facebook from Android
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.