How to delete followers from Instagram

Who I am
Aina Martin
@ainamartin
Author and references



Preliminary information


If using Instagram have you noticed that there are unwanted people who follow you, you will be pleased to know that the famous photographic social network offers the possibility to delete followers.


It is a very simple and quick procedure to carry out which, contrary to the blocking of a user, acts in a very silent way and does not prevent the deleted person from viewing the content you have published. The deletion of a follower, in fact, only involves the removal of the follow to the latter: in a nutshell, the selected person will no longer follow you on Instagram.

Performing this procedure is therefore useful to prevent the content you publish from appearing in the post feed or in the stories feed of the social network. The removal is not notified in any way to the removed person and it is also a temporary change: the removed person, if he notices it, can at any time resume following you by pressing the button Follow visible next to your profile.

Now that I have explained to you what the characteristics of this Instagram feature are, if you are interested in this possibility, continue reading this guide. In the following lines I will explain in detail how to succeed from smartphones and tablets, through the use of the Instagram application for Android and iOS.


Unfortunately, at the time of writing this tutorial, it is not possible to remove a follower from Instagram by acting as a computer, neither through the official website of the social network nor through the app for Windows 10.

Remove followers from Instagram


Per remove a follower from Instagram you have to act through the application of the famous social network for Android or iOS. Then start the Instagram by pressing on its icon on the home screen of your device (or in the drawer, that is the screen in which all the installed apps are present) then, once logged in, first press the icon with the symbol of a little man, to view your profile screen.

Now, press on the wording follower located at the top e, on the next screen, locate the user you want to remove from the list of your followers, press the icon with the symbol (...) in correspondence with his name and then, in the contextual menu Do you want to remove a follower?, presses on the wording Remove. Deleting the follower will take effect immediately.


Block followers on Instagram

Alternatively, for remove a follower from Instagram, you can proceed with a more drastic method: the user blocking. This way, the selected person will be removed and will no longer be able to see the content you post until you unlock them again. To block a follower you can act as a smartphone and tablet, but also as a computer. In the following lines I will explain how to do it.

Give smartphone and tablet


To block a person on Instagram by acting as a smartphone and tablet, first start the social network application by pressing on its icon on the home screen of your device. Then, go to your profile section (the symbol of a little man) and press on number of yours follower, in order to view the list.

Then locate the name of the person to block, tap on it and then, once the profile of the user in question is displayed, press the symbol (...) located at the top. Now, in the context menu, click on the item Block and confirm the operation by pressing on Yes, I confirm (Android) or Block (IOS).


If at a later time you want to unblock the blocked person, tap on the symbol (☰), and in the context menu that is proposed to you, select the item Settings. Then scroll through the screen you see and locate the wording Accounts blocked, which contains the list of all blocked users. By pressing on a name, you can see his profile and pressing the button Unlock, you can unlock it.

I remind you that blocking or unblocking a user is a silent procedure: the person in question will not be notified in any way.

From computer

If you prefer to act as a computer, you can block a person on Instagram and remove it from the list of followers by acting from the official Instagram site or from the desktop client of the social network for Windows 10.

To proceed, connect to the home page of Instagram Web or start the Instagram app for Windows 10 e, once logged in, go to your section Profile, in order to click on the wording indicating the number of followers. Through the menu displayed, locate and then click on name of the unwanted user, so you can see his profile.

Now, tap on the symbol (...) located at the top e, in the contextual menu that is proposed to you, press on the item Block this user (from the Web) o Block (via the Instagram for Windows 10). To confirm the operation, press in both cases on the wording Block.

Later, through the Instagram for Windows 10, you can unlock a user by pressing the symbol of a gear that you find on the main screen of Instagram and accessing the section Blocked users. Once this section is displayed, click on the username of the person to be unblocked e, in correspondence with their profile, click on the button Unlock.

In case of problems

In the event that you are unable to complete the deletion of a follower from Instagram, this function may be temporarily unagolable, perhaps due to a bug. In this case, I suggest you set your Instagram profile as private, in order to more securely obtain the possibility of deleting a follower through the procedure indicated in the previous chapter.

That said, if you need to set up your profile Instagram as a private individual, you can act as a smartphone and tablet through the social network application for Android and iOS, or from a computer, using the app for Windows 10 or by connecting to the official website of the social network.

In the first case, if you are using the application of Instagram on your smartphone, once logged into your profile, press the icon with the symbol (☰) you see located in the upper right corner, then press on the item Settings located at the bottom and up Android, in the menu that appears, move the lever to ON in correspondence with the wording Private account. On iOS, however, before moving the aforementioned lever, tap on the wording Privacy dell’account.

If you have decided to use the Instagram application for Windows 10, once your profile screen is displayed, click on the button with the symbol of a gear located at the top e, in the displayed menu, move the lever up ON in correspondence with the wording Private account.

Acting from the Web version of Instagram, on the other he, once you have viewed the section of your profile, press on the symbol of a gear and then, in the context menu, click on the wording Privacy and security. Finally put the check mark in correspondence with the wording Private account.




Audio Video How to delete followers from Instagram
add a comment of How to delete followers from Instagram
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.