How to delete friends from Facebook

Who I am
Valery Aloyants
@valeryaloyants
Author and references

Every time you log into Facebook are you overwhelmed by a sea of ​​phrases, photos and news that you consider completely useless? This happens because you have always answered yes to all the friend requests you have received, without thinking about the inevitable consequences. Now you find yourself following people you have no idea who they are in the real world. If I were you, I would start to do a bit of cleaning and remove all the "non-friends" from the Facebook News Feed, ie from the main screen of the social network. How do you say? The thing interests you but being little used to the technological world you do not know where to put your hes to be able delete friends from Facebook? Well, what's the problem? I can explain everything to you!




Assuming that deleting friends from Facebook is as easy as drinking a glass of water, the steps you need to take to do this are very few, both from computer that smartphones and tablets. Moreover, you can do everything in an "autonomous" way, without having to wait for confirmation from other people (as happens in establishing a new friendship).

Having said that, if you are therefore really willing to find out how to proceed in order to delete friends from Facebook, I suggest you take a few minutes of free time, sit comfortably and concentrate on reading this tutorial. I am sure that in the end you will be able to tell yourself more than satisfied and that you will also be ready to say that deleting friends from Facebook was actually a real breeze. So, what are you waiting for to start?

From computer

Delete friends from Facebook



To be able to delete friends from Facebook from your computer, the first step you need to take is to connect to the main page of the social network. To do this, open the web browser you generally use to browse the net, type www.facebook.com in the address bar and press the button Submit on the keyboard to connect to the main page of the social network and then fill in the appropriate forms located at the top right by typing the email address or telephone number with which you have chosen to register on the social network and the relative password. Once this is done, press the button Log in.

Now that you see the Facebook home, click on the search bar located at the top, type the name of the person you want to delete and click on his name that appears among the automatic suggestions.

In the page that opens, that is the profile page of the selected person, position the mouse cursor on the button Friends and select the item remove from your friends from the menu that appears to complete the operation.


Clearly, if you think about it, you can always add the person previously removed from the contact list to your friends again. How? Very simple: by going to the profile of the latter and pressing the button add to friends present on the cover image.

Obviously keep in mind the fact that if deleting friends from Facebook is an operation that can be carried out without having to wait for a response from the other party and without the latter being notified of the thing, sending a new friend requests in case of second thoughts is instead a procedure that inevitably implies not only the display of a special notification on the profile of the other person (consequently he will also know that you had previously deleted him from your friends list) but also requires approval by the latter. Take that into account.


Alternatives to deleting friends from Facebook

If you want to avoid deleting friends from Facebook but just don't want to view their contents on the social network home anymore, you can easily cope with this by stopping viewing a person's posts in the News Feed without removing them from friends.


To do this, just connect to the personal profile page of the person you intend to act on, click on the button Follow already o Show first (the item may vary depending on your settings) I will select the voice Unfollow Username (instead of Username you will find the name and surname of the person you want to unfollow) from the menu that is shown to you.

Remember that in addition to permanently deleting a contact, you can also block a friend on Facebook by going to his profile, by clicking on the button with the three dots placed on the right on the cover image and choosing the item Block from the menu that is shown to you (if you remember well I talked about it in more detail in my guide on how to block a friend on Facebook) or you can hide certain contents that the latter publishes online by pressing the arrow that appears at the top right of the its posts when you hover over it with the mouse and select the item Hide give the menu check if you press.

Delete pages of products, services and public figures

Instead of a friend, do you want to delete the page of a product, a service or that of a public figure from your Facebook profile? No problem. It is just as easy.

All you have to do is connect to the page to stop following by typing its name in the search bar located at the top of the social network and clicking on the correct reont among those that are proposed to you, place the mouse pointer on the button Do you like I will select the voice Unlike this page. give the menu to compare.

Give smartphone and tablet

Delete friends from Facebook

Do you use Facebook mainly from smartphones or tablets? No problem, the procedure you need to follow to be able to delete friends from Facebook is equally simple. To begin with, open the social network app, press the search bar located at the top, type the name of the person to be deleted and select the right name from the search reonts.

Once the screen relating to the profile of the previously selected person is displayed, presses the button Friends then choose the item remove from your friends from the menu that appears to terminate the friendship with the person in question.

If you were wondering, know that in case you have to think again you can always and in any case restore your friendship with users previously removed from contacts. All you have to do is go back to the profile page of the person you want to add back to friends, click on the button add to friends e wait for the user to respond to the request.

Obviously, the same rules already provided for the desktop version of Facebook also apply here, that is: unlike the removal of friends from your contacts, sending a friend request is a procedure that inevitably involves the appearance of a special notification on the profile of the other person and that requires the approval of the other party.

Alternatives to deleting friends from Facebook

Do you want to avoid deleting friends from Facebook but it is no longer your intention to display their content on your News Feed? If the answer is yes, know that even by acting as a smartphone and tablet it is possible to cope with this by stopping to view the posts of a given person.

To do this, just go to the profile of the person you intend to act on, press the Friends item and choose the item Don't follow anymore from the menu that is shown on the screen.

Do you want to delete one or more friends from Facebook because they annoy you? Well, in that case you would most likely do well to consider blocking them. From smartphones and tablets, the procedure to follow is very similar to that already seen for the desktop version of the social network. To block a friend, you just need to go to his profile, press the button with the three dots present at the top right, press the red button Block attached to the menu that is shown to you on the screen.

If, on the other he, you want to hide specific content that a friend publishes online, just locate the reference post, press on arrow that appears at the top right of his posts when you hover over it with the mouse and select the item Hide post give the menu check if you press.

Delete pages of products, services and public figures

If instead of deleting friends from Facebook you intend to remove the page of a product, service or public figure from your Facebook profile, the steps you need to follow are slightly different from those already seen but just as simple.

In fact, you just need to go to the page you intend to stop following by typing its name in the search bar located at the top of the social network app and then tapping on the correct reont among those that are proposed to you, press the button Do you like e select the button I do not like it anymore give the menu to compare.



Audio Video How to delete friends from Facebook
add a comment of How to delete friends from Facebook
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.