How to delete Skype contact

Who I am
Alejandra Rangel
@alejandrarangel
Author and references



How to delete a Skype contact from a computer

If you want to delete a Skype contact and want to act from computer, know that you can do this both from the official Skype client, agolable for Windows, macOS and Linux, and by accessing the web version of the service. In both cases, all you have to do to complete the operation is to access your account, locate the contact you want to remove and delete it by pressing the appropriate option. I also remind you that if you intend to block a contact to prevent him from sending you messages or calls (e not simply remove him from the contact list), you can use the appropriate function that allows you to do this. Let me explain in detail how to proceed.



Windows

To delete a Skype contact on Windows, start the official client of the service on your PC, log in to your Skype account (if you have not already done so), press the button Contact located at the top, scroll through the list of saved names among Skype contacts and locate the one you intend to delete. If you want, you can also search for its name using the appropriate search form located at the top of the window.



In the menu that will be shown at this point, click on name of the user you want to remove from the Skype directory, click on their user again name located at the top and click on the item first Remove contact e then Remove. Done! By following these simple steps you were able to delete a Skype contact.

In case you want to block a contact, press on the voice instead Block contact always present in the menu you see on the screen and confirm the operation by pressing the blue button Block. By doing so, the contact will be deleted and will no longer be able to send you messages or call / video call you on Skype (unless you decide to unblock it).

If you want, you can delete a contact or block it on Skype in another way: after pressing the button Address book and having identified the user to delete or block, do click destroy on his name, select the item Remove from contacts o Block contact (based on the action you want to take) and then confirm by pressing the button Remove / Block.

If you have second thoughts, you can always add the Skype contact you removed again by sending him a new contact request. For more information on what to do, I invite you to read my guide on how to add contacts on Skype. I am sure it will come in hey.

MacOS



To delete a Skype contact on MacOS, start the official client of the VoIP service on your Mac, log in to your Skype account (if necessary), press the button Contact (l'icona della phonebook located at the top left) and select the name of the user you want to remove from the address book (from the right pane).

Now, open the menu Contact (in the macOS menu bar, top left), select the item Delete contact ... from the menu that opens and confirms the operation by pressing the button Remove located in the box that appears on the screen.

Using a similar procedure, you can also block a contact, so as to remove him from the address book and at the same time prevent him from recontacting them on Skype. To proceed, select the name of the user you want to block, open the menu Contact, select the voice Block contact ... and confirm the operation by pressing the button Block.

If you want, you can remove or block a contact on Skype using an alternative procedure. After pressing the button Address book and having selected the name of the user to delete or block, do click destroy on it, select the item Remove from contacts o Block [contact name] ... e confirm the operation by pressing the button Remove / Block. Più semplice di così ?!


In case of second thoughts, know that you can always add the Skype contact you deleted by sending him a new contact request (hoping that the latter accepts it). For more information on how to proceed, I invite you to read my guide on how to add contacts on Skype.

Web

If you want to act from Skype Web, the version of Skype accessible from the browser, connected to the login page of the service, log in to your account and follow the instructions I am about to give you. First, press the button Address book located at the top left, locate the contact you want to remove, select his name e click on his again name in the menu that opens (top). Then click on the link Delete contact o Block [contact name] (based on the action you want to take) and confirm the operation by pressing the button Delete / Block in the box that appears on the screen.

Alternatively, you can delete a contact or block it on Skype just by doing click destroy on his name, then pressing on the voice Delete contact / Block contact in the menu that opens and then confirming the operation by clicking on the button Delete / Block.

Of course, if you have second thoughts, you can add the Skype contact you removed again by sending him a new contact request (e hoping that he will accept it). If you want more information on how to add contacts on Skype, read the guide I just linked to you.

How to delete a Skype contact from smartphones and tablets

It is your intention delete a Skype contact and would like to know how to proceed from smartphone and tablet, because you usually use the famous VoIP client through its official app for Android, iOS and Windows 10 Mobile, you will find the "tips" I am about to give you very useful.

To delete a Skype contact on smartphones and tablets, first launch the service's official app on your mobile device and log into your Skype account (if you haven't already). Next, press the button Contact located at the bottom right, scroll through the list of contacts until you find the one you intend to act on and presses on his name.

Now, tap the again name of the contact you want to delete (it is located at the top of the displayed screen) e, in the menu that will open, presses on the item Delete contact located at the bottom of the screen and confirm your intentions by pressing the button Delete contact.

If you want, you can also decide to block a user by pressing on the word in red Block contact (instead of "Delete contact"), also located at the bottom. By deciding to block a contact, the person in question will no longer be able to send you messages and call / video call you on Skype.

In case of second thoughts, you can always add again the Skype contact you deleted from the address book by sending him a new contact request… and hoping that he accepts it. For more information on how to proceed, I invite you to read my guide on how to add contacts on Skype.



Audio Video How to delete Skype contact
add a comment of How to delete Skype contact
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.