How to delete the most visited sites on Google Chrome

Who I am
Aina Martin
@ainamartin
Author and references

How to delete the most visited sites on Google Chrome for PC



Delete the most visited sites on Google Chrome for PC it is not difficult at all; what I have to tell you right away, however, is that the browser does not integrate a feature to completely disable this feature, however you can proceed with the deletion of each of the sites shown in the list (which, however, will be created again as you use the browser) .


To do this, start Chrome and open one new card (pressing the button [+] located next to the active one), then position the mouse near the thumbnail that identifies the site you want to delete, then click the button (⋮) which appears at the top of the latter. To conclude and delete the site from the list, press the button Remove placed in the menu that is proposed to you: in this way, you will have removed the shortcut present in the list of the most visited sites, but not the entry from the history or the bookmark possibly associated with the site.

Clearly, if you want to get rid of all the sites in the "new tab" screen, you have to repeat the procedure on all the previews; alternatively, you can clear all sites in one go by completely deleting your browser history.


To do so, press the key combination Ctrl+Shift+Canc (your Windows) or cmd+shift+backspace (on Mac), so as to display the window relating to the data deletion options on the screen; then, set the drop-down menu Time lapse su Tutto, put the check mark next to the item Navigazione timeline e finally, click on the button Clear data: in this way, in addition to the history, also the shortcuts shown in the “new tab” screen will be deleted.


Note: keep in mind that, if the browser has been previously associated with a Google account, the history will also be deleted from all other synchronized devices.

Alternatively, you can get rid of the Chrome history by pressing the button (⋮) located at the top right, by going to the menu History> History e clicking on the item Clear browsing data. For more information about the steps required for deleting the browser history, I suggest you take a look at my specific guide on the subject, in which I have covered this topic in great detail.


As I mentioned earlier, Chrome does not provide a feature to completely disable the display of the most visited sites within the screen dedicated to the new tabs. However, it is possible to make up for this lack by installing a special extension that can modify the aforementioned screen, such as Empty New Tab Page: once this add-on is installed, the "new tab" panel will be devoid of content and will show nothing else than a white screen.


To use it, click on the link I gave you just now (using Chrome), press the buttons Add e Add extension e, once the installation is finished, click on the item Keep the changes attached to the warning window that is proposed to you, to make the add-on operational. From now on, every time you open a new tab, a completely white panel will be displayed, without the list of the most visited sites.

If, on the other he, you prefer to replace the list of the most visited sites with a different content, such as a clock, a background that is always different or whatever, you can customize the screen in the way you prefer, using the extensions listed on the page dedicated to the customization of the "new tab" screen.


From here, you can choose the theme that best suits your needs, incorporating weather information, search bars, new wallpapers each time you open and new features, which will replace the shortcuts of the most visited sites on the Google Chrome browser.

How to delete the most visited sites on Google Chrome for smartphones and tablets

The Google Chrome browser agolable for Android and iOS offers less margin for customization than the counterpart for Windows, macOS and Linux: in fact, it allows you to delete the most visited sites individually and to delete the history, but not to change the screen dedicated to the new ones. open tabs.

Having said that, however delete the most visited sites on Google Chrome for smartphones and tablets, start the browser app, open a new tab (by pressing the numbered square located to the right of the address bar, then on the button +) e, once you have identified the site to be deleted, make a long tap on it, then press the button Remove. Repeat these steps for all sites you intend to remove from the screen.

If you want to delete all the sites shown in a new tab along with the navigation data associated with them, you can clear the browser history in the following way: if you are on Android, tap on the pulsating (⋮) located at the top right, select the menu Chronology, therefore, tap on the item Clear browsing data.

The next screen is very similar to the one already seen on the computer browser: choose the reference period in the menu Time lapse, put the check mark next to the item Navigazione timelineQuindi fai clic onla voce Clear data to remove browsing data and most visited sites.

If, on the other he, you are using Chrome for iOS, the steps are slightly different: start the browser, tap the button (...) located at the bottom right, select the menu Chronology and finally, tap on the item Clear browsing data, present below.

In the panel that opens, put the check mark next to the item Navigazione timeline, then press the button twice in succession Clear browsing data to proceed with the deletion of the history and information on the most visited sites.

Note: also in this case, if the browser is synchronized with a Google account, the Chrome history will also be deleted on all the other devices paired with the same profile.



Audio Video How to delete the most visited sites on Google Chrome
add a comment of How to delete the most visited sites on Google Chrome
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.