How to permanently delete Facebook account

Who I am
Aina Martin
@ainamartin
Author and references



Preliminary operation


Before explaining how to proceed to delete Facebook account permanently, I want to show you some operations that I think it is appropriate to perform to avoid losing valuable data during the process of deleting the profile and to ensure that everything shared by you on the social network is not more agolable to third parties at a later time. Then perform the steps I'm about to show you to find out how to make a backup of your data on Facebook and to underste how to remove personal informations e photo from the social network.


As for the backup of your data, it can be very useful in order to always be able to access information, photos, posts and anything else you have chosen to make agolable on the network up to this moment.

To download a backup copy of your data from Facebook open the web browser you usually use to surf the net and connect to Facebook by typing www.facebook.com in the address bar and then pressing the button Submit on the keyboard to connect to the main page of the social network. Then, fill in the appropriate forms located at the top right by typing the email address or telephone number with which you have chosen to register on the social network and the relative password, then press the button Log in.


Now click on the icon depicting a Arrow pointing downwards which is located in the upper right part of the blue Facebook bar and then presses on the item Settings attached to the menu that is shown to you. Then select the item Your information on Facebook from the left sidebar, click on the link View related to the option Download your information and select the data you want to download from Facebook: PostGalleryVideo etc.

Subsequently, if you wish, use the drop-down menus located at the top to choose thedate range to be included in the backup, the format where to download it (HTML o JSON; the first allows easier conontation of the downloaded information) and the quality of multimedia content to include in the backup itself. Once you have set all your preferences, click on the button Create the file to start creating the backup.


If you prefer, you can also act from a smartphone or tablet by starting theofficial Facebook app and going to the menu ☰> Settings and privacy> Settings> Download your information.

When the archive that contains a backup copy of your data on Facebook is ready you will receive the link to download it directly via e-mail to the address you used to access the social network. Note that depending on the amount of data to be backed up, this could take more than a day. If so, try to be patient.


Another operation that I suggest you perform before starting the procedure to permanently delete Facebook account is to remove all your data on the social network in order to avoid leaving your traces on it.


To delete your personal information on Facebook connected to your profile page and then click on the button Information which is located under the cover image.

On the page that is shown to you at this point, select one by one all the items in the left sidebar (eg. Work and educationPlaces you've lived inContact and background information) and then presses on the voice Modification or the icon depicting a pencil which is next to the information you want to delete. Therefore, proceed to delete the selected data. For some information, such as family members listed in the section Family and relationships, to cancel just click on cross present next to each name instead of on the item Modification or the icon depicting a pencil.

Deleting photos is also an operation that I invite you to perform before starting the process to permanently delete Facebook accounts.

To do this, go back to your profile page and click on the item Gallery placed under the cover image. Then select the tab Album, open one by one the albums containing your photos and first click on thegear placed at the top right and then on the item Delete album attached to the menu that appears to delete everything. To delete individual photos, instead, select their thumbnails, click on the button options located at the bottom and select the item Delete this photo give the menu check if you press.


Facebook account deletion

After having backed up your data on the social network and after having removed your personal data and photos, you can finally dedicate yourself to implementing the actual procedure to permanently delete your Facebook account.

To do this, the first step you need to take is to connect to the home page of the social network using your login data and then click on the icon of the arrow which is located at the top right and you have to select the item Settings give the menu to compare.

Once this is done, select the item Your information on Facebook from the left sidebar, click on the link View related to the option Delete your account and information, click the button Delete my account. and you will be shown a box in which the procedure to delete Facebook account will be started.

At this point, you just have to complete the procedure to delete your profile from Facebook by following the instructions on the screen. Just press the button Delete my account, type your account password and verification code in the appropriate text fields and press the button OK. That's all.

Keep in mind that the operations I have indicated to you to permanently delete Facebook accounts are also valid from smartphones and tablets. If so, just launch the Facebook app directly from your device and go to ☰> Settings and privacy> Settings> Delete your account and settings.

After confirming the deletion of the profile you will have 14 days to return to your own steps: within this time you can connect to Facebook, log back in to your profile and reactivate the account by clicking on the button Undo delete. You will find posts, friends, likes and settings as you left them.

Facebook account deactivation

As I already mentioned at the beginning of the guide, also a way to "disappear" temporarily from Facebook by hiding your presence from the public (even in searches) without deleting the account. This is the deactivation function, which you can easily recall by connecting to the social network home page, by clicking on arrow located at the top right and selecting the item Settings give the menu to compare.

On the page that opens, you have to select the wording Modification which is next to the wording Manage accounts e confirm the operation by pressing on the link Deactivate your account. Then type yours Password, fill out the form that is proposed to you, taking care to indicate the reasons for which you wish to do this and to finish click on the button disable.

Also in this case, all the operations to delete Facebook account temporarily that I have just indicated can also be performed from smartphones and tablets. To do this, just launch the Facebook app directly from your device and go to ☰> Settings and privacy> Settings> Personal information> Deactivate.

In case of second thoughts, you can always and in any case cancel the procedure just seen by reactivating your profile again. To do this, all you have to do is log in to your account again and then you can start using it again as you always have.



Audio Video How to permanently delete Facebook account
add a comment of How to permanently delete Facebook account
Comment sent successfully! We will review it in the next few hours.